« KALEID Gallery Feature Exhibits for February, 2010 | Main | Patti Garcia at Red Berry Coffee Bar »

Future Generation Art Prize

The Future Generation Art Prize is a world-wide art prize of $100,000 USD open to all artists up to the age of 35.

20 shortlisted artists will show their work in an exhibition at the Pinchuk Art Centre. The jury will select one main Prize winner who will receive a total of 100,000 USD (60,000 USD as a cash award, and 40,000 USD toward the production of new work). An additional 20,000 USD will be allotted to fund artist-in-residency programs for up to five other special prize winners. Images of works by all the shortlisted artists will be posted on the PAC website, and members of the public will be invited to vote via the Internet for People’s Choice Prize.

The prize is established to discover and provide long-term support for a generation of emerging artists, wherever they may live and work, this unique artist-focused prize aims to make a major contribution toward the production of new work by young artists.

The jurors are:
• Daniel Birnbaum (Sweden) – Director of the Städelschule Art Academy, Frankfurt am Main; Director of the Venice Biennale 2009
• Okwui Enwezor (Nigeria) – Director of Documenta XI; Former Dean of Academic Affairs and Senior Vice President at San Francisco Art Institute
• Yuko Hasegawa (Japan) – Chief Curator of the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo (MOT); former Chief Curator of the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa
• Ivo Mesquita (Brazil) – Chief Curator at the Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo; Curator of the 2008 São Paolo Biennial
• Eckhard Schneider (Germany) – General Director of the PinchukArtCentre
• Robert Storr (USA) – Dean of the Yale University School of Art; Director of the Venice Biennale 2007
• Ai Weiwei (China) – artist

To encourage the assistance of one generation of artists to the next, a group of renowned Mentor Artists has committed its long-term participation in the Prize and will provide in-person counsel and support to the Prize winners. The Mentor Artists are Andreas Gursky, Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons and Takashi Murakami.

Submit your online application from 18 January until 18 April 2010 at http://www.futuregenerationartprize.org


This page contains a single entry from February 3, 2010 11:44 AM.

The previous post in this blog was KALEID Gallery Feature Exhibits for February, 2010.

The next post in this blog is Patti Garcia at Red Berry Coffee Bar.

Home | Archives

Powered by Local Artists
Produced by Two Fish Design

info [at] phantomgalleries.com